Open Access News

News from the open access movement

Wednesday, January 31, 2007

2007 Franklin Award nominees

The Bioinformatics Organization has announced the nominees for the 2007 Benjamin Franklin Award for Open Access in the Life Sciences.   From Kevin Davies' story in the January 30 Bio-IT World:

This year’s nominees are: 

  • Sean R. Eddy, group leader, Janelia Farm Research Campus, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Leesburg, Virginia;
  • Robert Gentleman, head, Program in Computational Biology, Division of Public Health Sciences, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle, Washington;
  • Don Gilbert, director, Genome Informatics Lab, Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana; and
  • Steven Salzberg, director, Center for Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, University of Maryland, College Park, Maryland.

"These nominees are among the most significant advocates of open access in the life sciences and have been repeatedly nominated by the members of the Bioinformatics Organization since the inception of the Award," said organization president Jeff Bizzaro.

Members of (membership is free) may vote for the winner here....

I'm omitting the bios of the four nominees, but you should read them.  All four have made stellar contributions to open access or open data in biomedicine.  Regardless of the Franklin Award, all four deserve recognition for their work.